Grocery Shop Chronicles-Month One

Clean Eating

IMG_0499

Last week I started my clean eating process. I vowed to not have any processed foods. (I did learned though that some of the healthier choices are some-what processed). I had a fun time shopping for fresh and colorful foods. I went to a total of 6 stores, some that are health-conscious and some that are just the regular brick-and-mortar stores. One particular store I went into (Whole Foods) had fruit and veggies waiting for me as soon as I step into the entrance. I was happy to stay on the right eating path. Everyone knows that you buy way more then you intended to buy when you don’t eat beforehand.

IMG_0497

(A medley of fruit and easy fried sample of crab cake)

I have included the prices and places I brought the items for my new eating lifestyle.

Earth Fare (fairly new health-concious store Gwinnett County, GA) 

Can of Bush’s Black Beans         $0.88

Organic Braeburn Apples           $1.78/lb

Organic Strawberries                   $3.98/pack

Organic Bananas                           $0.77/lb

Bag of Carrots                                 $0.79

Mangoes                                           $5/4

Bell Pepper (Colors)                       $3/2

Publix

Can of Coconut Milk                        $1.78

Cottage Cheese (L)                            $1.97

Trader’s Joes 

Pure Protein Shake                             $1.99

Fage Greek Yogurt (L)                        $3.59

Thyme Herb                                          $1.69

Rosemary Herb                                     $1.69

Chives Herb                                           $1.69

Dill Herb                                                 $1.69

Whole Wheat Penne                             $1.49

Whole Wheat Tortilla Shells              $2.99

Whole Wheat Spaghetti                       $1.49

Whole Wheat Pizza Dough                 $1.19

Cage-Free Eggs                                     $2.99

Organic Raw Honey                            $5.99

Whole Foods 

Organic Dijon Mustard            $1.99

Organic Tomato Paste               $0.99

Organic Tomato Sauce               $0.99

Diced Green Chiles                      $1.29

Kroger

Frozen Brocoli Cuts                     $1.00

Frozen Corn                                  $1.00

Frozen Mixed Peppers                $1.00

Brown Rice                                    $1.69

Chicken Breast                             $1.99/lb

Salmon (Frozen)                          $6.49

Romaine Lettuce                          $0.99

Asparagus                                      $1.99/lb

Nam Dae Mun Farmer’s Market 

Tomatoes                                       $0.79/lb

Pineapple                                       $2.49

Key Lime 2lb Bag                          $1.99

Red Onions                                     $0.69/lb

Clementines                                    $0.49/lb

Green Onions                                 $1.99/5

Cilantro                                            $0.29

Blueberries                                      $1.99/pack

Minced Garlic Cloves                     $0.99/Jar

Small Sweet Potatoes                     $0.59/lb

Green Jalapeno                                $0.79/lb

Wal-Mart

Frozen Cooked Shrimp                    $6.48/pack

Stevia (100 Pack)                               $5.28

1/2 Pound Haverti Cheese                $2.79

1/2 Pound Oven Roasted Turkey     $2.93

1/2 Honey Maple Turkey                   $3.56

Overall, I spent around $135 including tax. Most of these items will last me a couple of weeks. I would need to buy my fruits, veggies, chicken breast, and deli meats and cheese often because I eat these the quickest.

I understand that starting on a clean-eating plan can be difficult. By buying my favorite fruits, veggies, and ingredients for inspired dishes, it becomes easier to eat better. I am also using this shopping list (shown below) created by Lauren Lives Healthy. I like this list because it’s realistic and you can buy most of these items at any store.

0e7cb88a9cde1990c32e391f0b607a80

Clean Eating is a process just like everything else. Once you get into the swing of it, it will become easier.

Much Love,

Christina

7 thoughts on “Grocery Shop Chronicles-Month One

  1. So happy you launched your blog! I will definitely have to go check out that Earth Fare store since it’s so close to me! I’m trying to eat and live a healthier lifestyle too, so I’m looking forward to your posts! 🙂 Remember I’m always an email/message away if you ever need anything. Much love, Brittany ❤

    Like

    1. Hey! It was just time! I kept wanting it to be perfect but I realized that I can change the format, fonts, etc. as I go along! And yes check out Earth Fare! It’s amazing! I do thank you for your continuous support! I’ll be in touch! Much Love, Christina!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I liked your Facebook Page. It’s good. I really like the recipes on there. They’re not too far fetch meaning I can prepare them with the ingredients I already have.

        Like

Leave a Reply

