Weekly Challenge: Meatless Monday

Clean Eating

So Last Monday, I decided to participate in Meatless Monday. It was a bit challenging since I didn’t have many options or ingredients for making certain dishes. However, I succeeded and I look forward to doing another Meatless Monday once I am done with my 7-Day BeachBody Clean Eating Plan (post about that coming soon). Below are items I prepared. I thoroughly enjoyed making the Mexican Stuffed Peppers (recipe at the bottom).  They were very delicious and just enough to fill me up.

Anyone who is interested in incorporating a Meatless Monday into their plan, Pinterest will be your new best friend.

(Breakfast Smoothie with Vanilla Protein Powder, Cup of Coconut Milk (from the can)Kale, Strawberries, and Blueberries)

(Breakfast Smoothie with Vanilla Protein Powder, Cup of Coconut Milk (from the can)Kale, Strawberries, and Blueberries)

IMG_0547

Salad-Romaine Lettuce, Tomatoes, Red Onions, Carrots, which 2 Tablespoons Bleu Cheese Dressing). 32 oz of Water

Mexican Stuffed Peppers. My fave. (Recipe at the bottom)

Mexican Stuffed Peppers. My fave. 

Mexican Stuffed Peppers (Recipe by Emily at One Lovely Life)

Ingredients

4 bell peppers (any color), sliced in half stem-to-tip, seeds removed
1c quinoa or brown rice, uncooked
½ medium onion, diced
1 (15oz) can black beans, drained and rinsed
1 roma tomato, seeded and diced
1 (4oz) can diced green chiles (don’t drain)
¼c cilantro, minced
¼tsp salt
¼tsp pepper
olive oil, if desired
½c Monterrey Jack, grated*
½c cheddar cheese, grated*
1 recipe red enchilada sauce (or 1 (28oz) can)*

Instructions

1.Add quinoa/brown rice and onion to a large saucepan with 2 cups of water and a pinch of salt. Bring to a boil over medium-high heat. Boil 5 minutes, cover, turn off heat and let steam 15 minutes. Fluff with a fork.
2. In the meantime, microwave pepper halves 2-3 minutes to soften slightly. (Prepared this way, the peppers should come out crisp-tender. If you want them crisper, you can omit this step.)
3. Pour quinoa or brown rice/onion mixture into a mixing bowl. Stir in black beans, tomato, green chiles and their juices, cilantro, ¼ tsp salt, and ¼ tsp pepper. If the mixture seems to dry, drizzle in a bit of olive oil (I didn’t need any).
4. Pour enchilada sauce into a 9×13″ baking dish. Divide filling among peppers. Nestle stuffed peppers into the enchilada sauce. Sprinkle with cheeses.
5. Cover the pan with foil and bake at 375 degrees 25-30 minutes. Remove foil and cook about 5 minutes longer. Serve peppers drizzled with enchilada sauce.

I hope that you are enjoying your Monday and as always, thank you for checking out Love Sparks Strength.

Much Love,

Christina

2 thoughts on “Weekly Challenge: Meatless Monday

  1. SOO going to have to try those stuffed peppers! I’m a vegetarian, and always looking for new dishes to try! I also really want to try protein powder in my smoothies. I live off smoothies, and kale is so good in them! Strawberry, Banana, and Kale are my favorite. Going to try the ingredients you listed for a smoothie sometime soon! Looks delicious…. excited for these meatless monday posts because I really could use some more variety food dishes in my life. I literally got excited when I read the title! LOL 🙂

    Like

  2. Hey! I didn’t know that you were a vegetarian. I use Pinterest for all recipes. It’s literally the best site for it. I use synta protein powder in my smoothie. However, I’m looking into using a protein that’s lower in calories (The Synta Powder is 200 calories per scoop).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

