Accept Me for Me (Tales of Dating)

Peaceful Mind Peaceful Soul
(Photo Credit: confettidaydreams.com)

(Photo Credit: confettidaydreams.com)

I’m struggling with something y’all. I’m about to be 25 and I haven’t had a boyfriend yet. I pretty much been single all of my life. I “dated” someone a few years back, but, I wouldn’t call him an ex. Just to be completely honest, he wasn’t boyfriend material.

I see a bunch of statuses about engagements, marriage, and babies. I want all of that. I truly want it. But, I’m not in a rush to be engaged or married. I want to date. I want to get to know someone on a deeper level. I want to be able to introduce him to my family (mostly my mom because she’s the most important besides God). I know that I want this. I don’t feel that I’m “good enough”. I am not the slender, big-booty (I live in Georgia so a lot of men want those Georgia peaches), or the one who wears make-up type of girl. I am not going to say never, but, I don’t want a guy to date me because of my outer appearance. Don’t get me wrong, I know that as a woman, I need to keep myself groomed and looking like I give a darn.

I’m not a ugly girl. I know this. Yes, I got a few extra pounds on me. I am not a Georgia Peach (as portrayed on the Real Housewives of Atlanta). I’ve been in Georgia for a few years now and I see how men look at women. My big sisters do get love as well from these men (most of them have a Peach booty). It sounds like I’m forcing on physical appearance and certain assets. That’s all that I see and hear a lot of men talk about. I see the photos of women that are appealing to them.

My question now is what do men see in a woman besides her assets? Are they concerned about her attributes? Can they accept that not all women will look at the video vixens, models, TV personalities, etc?

Personally, I am ready to have a boyfriend. I wanted one for a while. I just haven’t been confident enough to embrace this challenge. I have to remember to be patient and wait on God for Him to send me someone. However, I don’t want to be with someone who’s with me because I drop some pounds. If you can’t accept me at the weight I am now, then I don’t want you when I’m a bit slimmer. I feel how men judge women, we should be the same when it comes to choosing a guy for us. (That sounded harsh, huh?). It’s true though. I feel that as women, we are judged way more about how we look than they are. (A lot of guys that judged-stated that oh my she’s ugly or she’s fat don’t look all good their selves).

I, Christina am happy about how she looks. I love the woman that I am becoming. I workout not because I hate my body, but because I want to live for a long time and enjoy (really enjoy) life. People consider me to be weird, odd, awkward, all of the above. I don’t care about these words. I’m who I am. I’ll find (or God send me someone) who will like and love me just for me (no B-S, no changing me).

I honestly want your opinions, advice, etc. because I am stuck on this. Thanks y’all!

Much Love,

Christina

One thought on “Accept Me for Me (Tales of Dating)

  1. Girl, I was so happy to read this! It makes me feel that I am not alone. I have never dated anyone, and I’m so ready to date. Not just to have a “status” but to have someone to enjoy life with. I have prayed and prayed, and I believe God will send me someone soon, but the waiting is terrible. I’m very impatient. It’s funny because I thought God sent me someone, and he turned out to be more of a “lesson”, but it made me so ready to find a boyfriend. The “dates” I went on with him made me realize that I am able to get out of my anxiety, and go out there. I’ve always been scared to date because of my anxiety…. So now I’m praying extra hard…. I have always felt self-conscious about my body. I have always felt like I wasn’t “pretty enough” for a guy to like me. But we are all beautiful, and created in God’s image, and the one that He created for us will love us just for who we are! Sorry for this long message, but just wanted you to know that I understand. Although I am only 20, all of my friends my age are with kids/married/engaged, and it’s hard to not be jealous. But I truly believe God will send the right one my way. And I believe the same for you…. I am planning on finding a church singles group to attend, if you’re interested in going with, since we’re in the same area. Feel free to message me on Facebook if you are. My best friend and I are in search for one. Not necessarily to find a boyfriend, but to just get out there, and make friends, and possibly meet someone special. 🙂 Take care!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

